Choosing The Right Online Defensive Driving Class
Choosing a class can be confusing but there are a few things you should consider so you don’t have to spend your day in an old defensive driving classroom in a bad part of town.
The first thing you should do is verify that the school is Georgia certified. That means the school is licensed by the Department of Driver Services. If you don't you will not receive the proper paperwork you need to get your license back or lower your insurance or take with you to court. Also understand that all defensive driving classes in Georgia will last a total of 6 hours and can be taken in one full day or two evening classes. The length of the class is also set by Georgia law.
If you have received a ticket or citation outside the state of Georgia, be sure you speak with the traffic court in the county or state in which you received your ticket in to confirm that it is alright for you to take your driving class in Georgia. Some states have different levels of defensive driving programs for different offenses but Georgia does not.
It is also good to know that defensive driving schools are all privately owned so many have been around for a long time and the facilities do vary from nice to not so nice. It is a good idea to make sure you know the condition of the school before signing up, especially in or around the Atlanta Metro area. You will also find many schools located in older strip malls and sometimes the classrooms can be run down so be careful. There are newer schools to chose from so asking is always a good idea.
Larger schools often require pre-payment and have a no refund policy so try and find a school that does not require you to pre-pay just in case something comes up on the day of the class.
Many people take defensive driving classes because of a recent ticket or court order but the class can be very helpful for teenagers to take as well. Other reasons for attending a defensive driving class in Atlanta is to lower your car insurance payments if you are over 25 years old and have a good driving record or to reduce points on your driving record. This can be done once every 5 years.
A good way to find a driving school in Georgia is to search online or through the department of driver services website. Look for a school that is in your area but keep in mind that a nicer school might just be a few minutes down the road.